top of page

REACTION: Halloween Trailer [October 2018]


Hello again to the two people subscribed to this blog! After a busy month of finals and graduating from college I have returned and y’all I am so excited. The reason I’m excited is because last Friday we finally got the trailer for Halloween (2018) the newest Halloween movie. That’s right folks, Michael Myers is finally back, and with David Gordon Green in the director’s chair. The trailer is fantastic. It shows us just enough but not too much. It teases how ruthless this new Michael is but doesn’t show any kills. And the best part? We never see his face. Call me old fashioned but I never wanted to see his face, it ruins the image. They’ve also retconned all the sequels which shouldn’t be surprising considering they did the same thing for Halloween: H2O. Jamie Lee Curtis has returned as Laurie Strode (NOT Michael’s sister as the trailer very bluntly states) and she’s the new Sam Loomis. I love that we get to see what happens to the “final girls” after everything’s over and done. It looks like she’s been hiding away and I already love the route they’re going with her character. Nick Castle is returning as The Shape for some of the film but we’re also getting newcomer and stuntman James Jude Courtney as Michael for the majority of the film. I’m eager to see the direction for this Michael because I’ve heard it’s pretty intense (and hopefully ruthless). John Carpenter is also returning to do the score and really this premise can’t get any better. The cinematography of the trailer is beautiful and there’s a lot of really daring shots (that high one of the institution and the frame is filled with that red and white checkered floor? beautiful). I’m eager to see where this film goes and if the whole movie keeps this aesthetic. October can’t come fast enough.

Halloween is being produced by Blumhouse Productions and arrives in theaters October 19th, 2018.

bottom of page