top of page

TRIBUTE: The Raft [Creepshow 2, 1987]


Creepshow 2 I remember watching as a kid before the original Creepshow. I watched it with my grandfather one day (it was probably on the old Syfy, SciFi, channel) and I have very distinct memories of being scared of Old Chief Wood'nhead (which, looking back, is racist. this whole segment was very racist.) and of my grandfather pointing out Stephen King's cameo in the final segment but in both Creepshow movies combined the one segment that pops into my head frequently is THE RAFT.

Written by King it tells the tale of 4 typical 80's horror teens (horny, high, minimal clothing) meeting their end via an "oil slick" while stranded in the middle of a lake on a floating wooden raft. This has stuck with me because I have a really irrational fear of something chasing me in the water and I end up being killed because I can't swim fast enough. This monster is, and I have no issue saying it, one of the scariest most anxiety-induing monsters in all of horror. It just floats around waiting to strike and when it does it eats, drowns, and digests you all in one go. While also melting your skin off. That's fucking horrifying. I don't know how they managed to make what is essentially flesh-eating black mucus so scary but boy they did. Lakes still make me nervous because of this 20 minute segment from the not as good Creepshow sequel. But this segment is pure 80's camp and also pure anxiety. You're just begging for one of them to make it out.

I'm a huge fan of horror anthologies, I always have been. The Creepshow films started that for me and out of all the anthologies I've seen, THE RAFT always comes back as one of the scariest and one of the best. So at 1:10am on a random Saturday in May, I'm pouring one out to this beautiful disgusting oil slick.

Oh yeah! It even burps at the end.

bottom of page